top of page

BIOGRAPHY/CONTACT

GAEL_AYMON-ALMA-2023-2024.jpg

Twice nominated for the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA), Gaël Aymon has worked as an actor, scriptwriter, director and producer, and has taught drama to children and teenagers. A folk tale specialist, he has been writing picture books and novels for young people (and consenting adults!) since 2010.

His books are imbued with humanism, written in a poetic or crude but always demanding style that challenges stereotypes, and have won numerous awards. Several of them have been translated into Chinese, Korean, Romanian, Italian, Spanish, German, Brazilian, Mexican and Braille.

Whether supported by Amnesty International or acclaimed in the press, his books, full of humanism, deal subtly with subjects as varied as gender equality, bullying, the construction of identity, ecology, love… He covers a wide range of literary genres, from contemporary realist novels to SF, Fantasy or Thriller, as well as Romance and picture books for younger readers. Free will is central to his work. He defends the importance of complexity and nuance, as well as fear, in children's books.

His approach to fairy tales is multi-faceted, highlighting their oldest versions or twisting them to question their modernity. His young adult novels are full of references, whether to the Grimm brothers, Perrault, The Wizard of Oz, Balzac's La Peau de chagrin, or legends long forgotten.

A tireless mediator of literature for young people, he has already met over 15,000 students in classrooms throughout France and the French-speaking world.

Download his bio-bibliography & press review in English

Gaël Aymon is a member of:

Thanks for your message!

bottom of page

top of page

BIO/CONTACT

Gael AYMON ALMA Award 2023-2024

Nominé à deux reprises, pour l’ensemble de son œuvre, au Prix mondial Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, « le Nobel de la littérature jeunesse », Gaël Aymon a été acteur, scénariste, réalisateur, producteur et a enseigné le théâtre aux enfants et aux adolescents. Connaisseur des contes, il écrit depuis 2010 des albums et des romans pour la jeunesse (et adultes consentants !)

Empreints d'humanisme, ses livres, à l’écriture poétique ou brute mais toujours exigeante, malmènent les stéréotypes et ont obtenu de nombreuses récompenses. Plusieurs ont déjà été traduits en Chine, Corée, Roumanie, Italie, Espagne, Allemagne, au Brésil, au Mexique et en braille.

Qu’ils soient soutenus par Amnesty International ou acclamés dans la presse, ses ouvrages traitent avec subtilité de sujets aussi variés que l'égalité, le harcèlement, la construction de l'identité, l'écologie ou l'amour. Ils abordent des genres littéraires variés, du roman réaliste contemporain à la SF, la Fantasy ou le Thriller fantastique, en passant par la Romance ou les albums pour les plus jeunes. Il y accorde une place centrale au libre arbitre et défend l’importance de la complexité et de la nuance, mais aussi de la peur, dans les livres jeunesse.

Son approche des contes est plurielle, remettant en lumière leurs plus anciennes versions ou les détournant afin de questionner leur modernité. Ses romans jeunes adultes sont imprégnés de nombreuses références, que ce soit aux frères Grimm, à Perrault, au Magicien d'Oz, à La Peau de chagrin de Balzac, ou aux légendes les plus oubliées.

Infatigable médiateur de la littérature auprès des jeunes, il a déjà été à la rencontre de plus de 15.000 élèves à travers les classes de France et du monde francophone.

Gaël Aymon est membre de :

Merci pour votre envoi !

bottom of page